Uber's Future Beyond 2018--Will it Survive?

When compiling my predictions for Uber in 2018, I studied a lot of data, read a lot of news and tried to peer between the lines of truth and fiction. Interestingly enough, there is enough information to comprehend two separate futures for Uber fully (For gig economies in general.)

1. Alternative Universe 1: Uber Who?
    Imagine a $72 billion operation that succumbs to constant state and federal legal battles, where regulations start to take over the driving industry, ending the rideshare chaos free-for-all fun ride. Imagine whole continents setting regulations that demand drivers be licensed (as they were for taxi's) and that anyone driving for a rideshare platform is an employee, or the platform is responsible for the service. Imagine if cities ban ridesharing, or whole countries decide that taxi drivers cannot be endangered for the sake of private car owners seeking extra income (Japan). Imagine a world where car manufacturers stop playing patsy to a few ridesharing start-ups and consider their own potential power and infrastructure.