You are an IC...you don't get to set the rules

You accept the ‘work’ one job at a time under the terms that those who have arranged the work have determined. If you don’t like those terms, don’t accept the ride (job). As a person in business for yourself for two decades, you must know that sometimes IC work goes uncompensated. It’s part of business. I certainly know that much prospecting work I put in as a real estate agent went uncompensated, yet I was an IC. As a small business owner, my sister occasionally opens her doors for a loss on the day. That’s part of being out there on your own. Sometimes, a deuce requests a ride that they don’t end up taking and we’re left high and dry. Maybe the driver before you lucked out on a gut feeling and didn’t accept the request, but you did.

Your 4.97 rating says nothing and means nothing to nobody…
In another post you admitted that you are what I call " begging for 5 Stars"
I don’t like that and nobody else likes it either…
If I was your Pax one day and you kept begging me for 5 stars I just would talk nice to you and as I left your car I rated you 1 Star.

You have an interesting POV, to be sure. You’re struggling with working as an IC, and that’s not uncommon with newbs. But you seen like an articulate bloke, so I’m confident you’ll figure this out eventually
The point is, none of us likes to implement the ghost ride and I don’t advise using it often. But as IC’s we simply cannot afford to be taken advantage of and have time stolen from us.

People who are new to consulting/IC eventually figure out that they don’t have to be taken advantage of and they DO NOT have to give away their time. That is, after all, why many of us go into consulting in the first place. As you do more consulting and IC work, you’ll come to value your time more appropriately.