Whats up these customers today?

I worked as a professional chauffeur/limo driver for over 12 years from the late 70s thru the early 90s (I know…I know…I’m an OLD fart😎) I bought a house and earned a bachelor degree all while driving full time. Customers then paid my company(s) $50 to $120 per hour with a 3 or 4 hour minimum for basically the same services we provide today. The only difference is the car was much longer. I commonly earned more in tips than my $15 to $20 hourly wage.
I recently started with Uber/Lyft and I LOVE doing it. I am, however, VERY disappointed in the tipping protocol/system. I personally provide a clean, comfortable, upscale vehicle, it’s fuel & maintenance, along with accommodating, courteous, prompt, safe professional service. Passengers now verbally appreciate my services, but cash tips are rare and most don’t add even a dollar to a $9 ride even when I stop at a convenience store and wait for them (at 12 CENTS per minute!) or lift & load their luggage, etc. etc. Some tell me they’re going to add a big tip for my trouble and then don’t… I guess because they know they’ll likely never see me again.

Blame Uber. They trained the pax not to tip. What city do you drive? Maybe someone in that city can tell you what they do to get more tips.

Agreed. Uber started out brain washing pax not to tip. And I’m sorry but ten people a day tell me I’ll tip you on app. And I get 1-3 only. Maybe it’s just bs talk but I find it odd and think they really do nab our tips. Or call it a system glitch lol

I agree that Uber set the presedent…telling pax they didn’t have to tip. So now that it’s in the app as an option, they view it as such, an option.

Before tipping in the App I would make 200 to 300 a week in cash tips… now I’m lucky to make 50 a week since the tip app was introduced. All this did was make the good tippers not tip anymore.