What are peoples feelings on tip jars?

I am a new driver in a fairly small market in the Topeka / Lawrence Kansas area. I have a question…I am not comfortable putting one out, but nobody tips either. I had several rides last night that were short and under $5. A small tip would have been nice if they could simply because I more than likely missed out on a more lucrative ride. I know the pax doesn’t know this…but it was what I thinking. And I have gotten all 5 star ratings with both Uber and Lyft so I was just curious what it’s like for you?

No dont put a small jar, assholes would rate you bad because of it, sadly we have no control over prices, we just want get payed for our work we dont beg for tip, we just want get payed fairly, or just work with the cheap prices wishing for tips

Don’t expect tips most people use uber because they have no vehicle so they use multiple times a day they won’t tip every time. Tip jars are just tacky IMO both apps offer the ability to tip. If they want to give you cash tip they’ll hand it to you. I went 13 rides without getting one tip before and last night 6/12 tipped it’s just depends on who you pick up.

Tip jars ARE tacky…I don’t like to see them at drive thru windows!! Most of my afternoon rides (small market) are kids going to and from work. They are between $5 - $7 … suck it up! Take the good with the not-so-good, so to speak.

Tip jars are the worst thing for 2 reasons. It makes you look desperate, and it is unneccecary because they can tip in the app.

.you all are saying what I was thinking. Tips jars are not a good idea…thank God! I just didn’t want to be the only idiot out that wasn’t using one. I usually have cold water and always mints. So far it’s been a blast! Gets me out of the house and talking to some nice people!

Tips are not common in this industry IN MOST AREAS. Tips jars are for beggars but if you do it and it works, why not? Its just not for me.