Want to share my time as a driver to help some of you and shed light on the real cost of being a Partner for Uber/Lyft

Uber on and Lyft Up

I have been a Uber/Lyft driver for 3 years now. I have seen the industry grow alot, some good some not so good.

In 2014, My brother told me about Lyft. How I could get out there and make money on my time and on my schedule. I loved the idea. I began to drive of Halloween night. That night was fun with all of the people dressed up and the craziness. It went fine for the time being then Valentines day weekend happened. I was in the area around AT&T park and some guy in a Tesla was getting ready to back up into a parking spot. I had just stopped to let a women out. The guy thought I was taking the spot and backs into me 3 times. I called to report the incident to Lyft and my driving days were over……

In June of 2016, I bought a used car. A White 2011 Chevy Malibu LTZ. I did so with the thought of driving for Uber. It was great in the beginning. I would go on the weekends to San Jose and make 500-800 from Friday night to Sunday Morning. I did my taxes early and found out that I drove 34K miles for Uber, just part time, and this was just 6 months of driving. at that rate I would have driven 68K for an entire year.

In January, I began to drive for Lyft again. I was making more money it seemed. I was getting tipped and making back the 20% I paid them. The in a blink of an eye my transmission started misbehaving. My car has been in the shop for 2 weeks, and its costing 4300K to fix, not to mention the 1k for tires or the 400 for brakes. I have not driven for 2 weeks and it has changed my perspective on what it means to be a driver.