Uber offer greater rewards for driver referrals than they do for actual driving

That might be one reason for unrealistic reporting of earnings. Uber always gives potential hourly earnings before expenses and before they take their cut. Potential hourly earnings are often based on very casual work only possible to achieve through strict cherry picking.

Just do your best and work it as long as you can… What you are experiencing is pretty much the reality of what taxi drivers fear and oppose in Uber. My understanding as a taxi driver, my fear is that when the day comes that I don’t make any money driving taxi, well, Uber drivers wont be making any money either.

Those long rides you spoke of can become a daily gig for you. Chat up the nice ones, get to know them. If you feel safe with them and they like you see if you can drive them daily. Exchange numbers (not the Uber number).

They call you, turn off the app, drive to their place. They get in your car turn on the app, they send the request you get the ping. get 2 or 3 of these for each day and you will make a bit of money that you can count on.

You are complaining, that’s what you are doing wrong. Enjoy the ride! 5 blocks or 50 miles. It’s money for you, experience for you, you see new places, meet new people, and have a great time! Don’t try to figure anything out except where you want to drive that night (or day).

If you are doing this part time, you are experiencing the part time dilemma to rideshare driving. If you are driving full time, be patient. Enjoy your job. If you are passionate about driving, you will get what you want. If you are just trying to make a few extra bucks, it’s not really going to work the way you THINK it should work. Relax, you’re doing great!

All drivers should read ubers terms and conditions every word of it then read the partnership agreement word for word
If you still think driving for uber is a good idea please check in to the closest mental institution