Not discriminating handicapped riders

Im a female a little over 5 ft. last night around 2am, i was notified. it was a bar with a guy in a wheel chair, who seemed very excited that i was a female he said i was his first female uber its usually men and asked if i would be able to help him and fold up his wheel chair. he was obviously intoxicated and i dont feel comfortable getting out the car ever, im the driver. i felt bad bc i didnt want him to think i was discriminating. i suggested he get another driver but i waited till the driver got there to make sure he got a ride and if that driver needed help i would be more than happy to help.

I had a little person who needed a boost up into my CRV and a lady with crutches. I had to help both into my car, but were fine once we arrived.

Don’t forget about the wolf in sheep’s clothing now days you got to look out for you because a mistake in judgement could really go bad . I’m a male driver and I check pax all the time especially in the drunk hrs .

I’m not an expert on Ada law by any means but I don’t think you can tell him to wait for another driver. In that situation I would have put on the hazards and shut off the car taking keys with me. It’d be the pax responsibility to get in the car (don’t want a lawsuit if I inadvertently injure him helping) and then put the wheelchair in back or trunk.

Uber has a special vehicle class for dealing with HC people, WAV I think. You should be able to refuse people in wheel chairs as your vehicle is not equipped for HC transport.

These seems like a very Uber way to handle it, do everything half assed instead of actually helping the person. If you aren’t equipped or capable of dealing with HC pax then don’t take the ride.

Electric or foldable doesn’t change the fact that the PAX is HC, if your vehicle isn’t equipped (special grab handles, etc.) and you don’t feel capable of taking the passenger then don’t accept the ride.