My thoughts after driving Uber for 8 weeks & 726 rides

I live in London, Ontario, Canada. We don’t have Lyft so I only driver Uber. Perhaps it will help a newbie. I was a newbie once also. I have learned much after 8 weeks. Perhaps my experiences will help someone else. I learn something new every day. I am making $500 - $600 a week.

1. Don’t take yourself, this job or the passengers too seriously. Be yourself. Be confident without getting an attitude. Riders can sense attitude and will give low ratings because of this. My rating dropped to 4.60 but I have managed to get it back up to 4.78 and it’s slowly but surely rising. It’s harder to get it back up than to get it lowered by a 1 rating! Attitude is the difference between a 4 and a 5 star rating!
  2. Good conversation makes it more pleasant for everyone. I have a few things I use as conversation ice breakers. Here are some that I use: How’s your day going? Are you on your way to work? Are you on your way home from work? Great weather we’re having? Are you a student? (this is a university city). Sports are always great conversation ice breakers for guys. If they don’t seem interested in chatting or are constantly on their phones, stay quiet.
  3. Drive gently! Passengers don’t like quick acceleration or harsh braking. Plan lane changes well in advance. Don’t run amber or red lights. Don’t speed. Arriving 2 minutes early will not get you a better rating but could get you a poorer rating. If you drive everyday, your chances of an accident increase with every mile driven. Ignore the action of other drivers. Driving angry will get you in trouble or produce low ratings.
  4. I have found that adding a few amenities often bring positive comments. I put Werther’s candy in the armrests. I buy large bags of these at Costco for less than $9 a bag. People love them! I have phone chargers that will charge iPhone or android. I have Kleenex and hand sanitizer available.