Interested of becoming an Uber/Lyft driver. Recommendation for the right vehicle?

Evening! I’m interested in becoming an Uber/Lyft driver. I’m also a realtor. I’m looking to get a second vehicle for real estate and uber/Lyft. Should I stress doing uber select type vehicle or do basic uber and if so what kind of vehicle you recommended? I was considering BMW X1 because it’s nice, price is good for used, mpg is great, enough space for passengers and or my for sale signs. I’m wanting a more cross over suv rather than a small car.

Thanks for your help!

I wouldn’t recommend a BMW, they have issues and with the miles you may spend more time in the shop then on the road. I’m speaking from experience as a REALTOR® and driver. IMO Mercedes have good value and little maintenance (outside of the expected services which I trust you’ve already budgeted for). I wouldn’t buy a car for uber yet I would be intentional in your purchase… just know that it’s not a lot of bang for buck in buying for Select. The pings are low and it’s cool for what it is however if it’s not your full time it’s not going to pay your note.

I never force real estate conversation but everyone loves to talk about it. I try to avoid it with friends or new acquaintances unless they repeatedly insist

If you decide to drive every now and then, be intentional about it and learn the market, where people are buying, living etc however in the time spent driving for gas you could have helped a buyer or seller

I drive an old model Mercedes. I lucked out on this vehicle. But be smart about your purchase. Either way the less you spend the more you make! Business smarts.

I am a Broker/Realtor and also do UBER. I got a vehicle to do Select and rarely get Select rides. Save your money and get just a cheap basic car with 4 doors which gets awesome gas mileage to do UBER X. Your gas mileage is very important.