If you are looking at Ubering as a business or a job then you are only making $0.72 per mile

I have been driving for over 2 months now and am averaging $1.28 per miles driven, when $0.56 is taken away accounting for gas, depreciation, etc. I am left with $0.72 per mile driven for uber. Doing 12+ hours, you really amount to approximately 75,000 miles driven a year. Uber will continue to get suckers for a long time, hey there are over 6 billion people in this world, but I can tell it is a disruptor certainly not a sustainable business model. What I fail to understand is how come all these investors keep investing in this company.

It is possible at 1 million trips a day Uber most likely has $540 million gross revenue per year.

Uber can survive and thrive only if the taxi business closes and Uber starts paying uber drivers as much in fares as a taxi gets.

Today right now is not a good day. It was good early in the morning but not now. Im logged off doing chores and catching up at home. My suggestion is to start at 3-4am and try to get airport fares. Lots of people going there in the early am and too few drivers.

One thing I want to clarify. I do not automatically deadhead back home. Instead I do what makes sense at the time. Today I saw no cops at Newark airport so I decided to circle around trying to get a fare and I did. It was risky but I did it. Sometimes if its later in the morning I will head to Linden to catch the work crowd. If its early early than I will head back and go try for a 2nd airport run or a city. Everything I do has to make sense at the time and nothing is automatic.

I was making 2 grand a week before gas and taxes when I started driving for Uber in the summer. That’s before Uber cut 20% prices. I was getting up at 5:30 am and driving 14 hours a day for 6 days a week.