I always tip on the quality of the ride

Not whether somebody took 5 seconds to get out of their car and put my bag down, a task I’m willing to perform for myself. Seriously, I’m supposed to hand somebody five bucks because they spent 4 seconds lifting a bag down? This is why I hate the whole tipping mentality. How much is that per hour?

I would much rather pay a red cap to do all the heavy lifting and take me directly to my check in location.

Don’t forget, I’m a driver too. I have earned the right to call you guys out.

When somebody flings their door open too hard or slams their bag hard against an open door pushing it open even further. That makes complete sense. It makes no sense that any damage is done when a door is slammed.

I do agree that there are delicate, sensitive drivers for whom hearing the percussion of a door slamming gives them the vapors , and appropriate consideration should be given to drivers Who think that way. but as a rider I want to make sure that door shuts on the first time. That’s all I care about. Because if the driver really cares so much, they would get out of the car and open the door themselves The onus is on the driver here, not the pax.

It’s saying that newer car doors themselves are so flimsy that the door panel distortion is higher every time a door is slammed and cannot take the same load as cars from earlier eras, and it is a design flaw in the new car that needs to be addressed. So because there is a bunch of crappy new cars on the market, and you bought one, I have to stop slamming my door the same way I’ve done my entire life?

If you were a good Uber driver, you would be jumping out of the car and opening it for your precious passenger. If you did this you could shut the door as gently as you wish. You could also offer your passenger a breath mint as they got out.