Driving the public is an inherently dangerous job

No gun control laws. I conceal carry whenever I am outside my home. Better to be judged by 12 than to be carried by 6. I am a combat veteran. I can and will take care of myself. I have felt a little unconfortable with a few pax, but I also have good situational awareness. My car my rules my say.

That’s why you should always carry a gun or least a knife (If only DC and Maryland weren’t such tightwads about it). I guess I’ve just been lucky.

If there were no safe rider fee at all would you be saying the same? On paper our commission would look higher in reality it would be the exact same except they would most likely need to raise their commission so you would make less.

I am for the SRF and any raise they make to it as long as it doesn’t affect the commission they take from me. My charge is the fare, base fare + mileage + time, that is all I can count into my pay not some stupid added on safe rider fee.

But if person is that frightened of the general public, perhaps livery driving isn’t the best occupational choice for such a person.

If Uber were at all honest, the SRF would be renamed the AUP fee - Additional Uber Profit. Yes, the SRF is complete and total bullshmit and it has nothing to do with actual safety, but that’s just how our “partner” operates.

I’m not taking sides on this silly debate, but I’m just saying that Uber has made it clear what its intentions are. On the other hand, you’re an IC driving your car, so you can pretty much do whatever you please, legally speaking.

But if a person is so mistrusting of the general public that one feels compelled to arm oneself before leaving one’s home, livery driving is not a good occupational choice for such a person.