Drivers are uneducated about the ways of TNC

Suck it up buttercup you fall into that group as was proven by your attack response to me and your fear of Uber. I’ve been driving with Uber for 3 years I’ve learned their ways and I’ve also learned how to counter them. Maybe instead of going on the defensive you should listen and learn, if something doesn’t sound right do some research. Most of us senior drivers remember when driving was profitable and we don’t mind sharing the lessons we learned along the away after major price cuts with newer drivers on how to drive profitably.

Considering that advice was “When I call rider I tell them I see on the passenger app there are cars closer to [you than] me. Once they cancel I go off line for a few so I don’t get the ping again.” … I want to be sure I get your point.

Nope. It could also mean closer drivers didn’t accept the ping. If you want to drive at a loss, have at it, WE are in charge of what rides we accept. Read your TOS.

Based on their study the IRS is saying that $0.54 per mile is the average cost of operating your vehicle. Now it’s true that for some that might be higher or it might be lower. If the cost is higher than one would be wise to use the actual cost of operating the vehicle, if the cost lower one is permitted to use the per mile rate allowed by the IRS.

You didn’t help anyone spreading false information. Hating on Uber is fine but misleading others is not. Please tell me how a person driving a 2006 beater is paying the same per mile as a brand new fully financed mercedes right off the lot. Thanks.

And I’m sure when you filed your taxes you used the $0.17 per mile actual cost as your deduction instead of the allowable $0.575 IRS standard deduction.

You do know that both of you guys are talking about two different rates, right? He’s talking about vehicle depreciation, you are talking about tax deductions. Two separate but related quantities.